Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Managing a user allows you to add the user to a group or remove them from it, as well as set the user's permissions for specific resources.

To manage a user:

  1. Show the Resources page by clicking the Resources link in the page navigation menu.


     
  2. Click on the Users tab.


     
  3. On the Users widget, click on the name of the user you want to manage.

    The Manage User dialog is displayed.


     
  4. Do one or more of the following:

    ToDo this
    Disable the user's account
    1. Click the  button in the title bar.
    2. Select the Disable option from the menu.
    Enable a user account that has been disabled
    1. Click the  button in the title bar.
    2. Select the Enable option from the menu.
    Permanently remove a user account from the platform
    1. Click the  button in the title bar.
    2. Select the Remove option from the menu.
    3. Click the button.
    Change the name of the user
    1. Click the button in the title bar.
    2. Edit the details as required.
    3. Click the button.
    Add the user to your favouritesClick the button in the title bar. The icon changes to to indicate that the server has been added to your favourites.
    Remove the user from your favouritesClick the button in the title bar. The icon changes to to indicate that the server has been removed from your favourites.
    Edit the user's details
    1. Click on the Configuration sub-tab.

    2. Click the button in the Configuration section.
    3. Edit the user's details as required.
    4. Click the button.
    Add the user to a group
    1. Click on the Groups sub-tab.

    2. Select the required group from the Select Group drop down menu.
    3. Click the button.
    Remove the user from a group they are a member of
    1. Click on the Groups sub-tab.

    2. Click the button next to the group you want to remove the user from.
    Manage a group that the user is a member of
    1. Click on the Groups sub-tab.

    2. Click on the name of the group you want to manage. For information about the tasks that can be performed when managing a group, see Managing a Group.
    Give the user permission settings for a specific resource
    1. Click on the Resources referring to this user sub-tab.
    2. Specify the following:
      • UUID - The UUID of the resource to apply the permission setting to.
      • Permission - Whether to allow or deny the user the ability to perform the action specified using the Capability drop down menu.
      • Capability - The action that the user is specifically allowed or denied the ability to perform.
      • Resource type - The type of resource that the UUID pertains to.
    3. Click the  button.
    Remove an assigned specific permission setting
    1. Click on the Resources referring to this user sub-tab.
    2. Remove the required permission by clicking the  button next to the permission.
    View the status of jobs related to the userClick on the Information sub-tab.
    View and manage the related resources and UUIDs for the user
    1. Click on the Information sub-tab. 
    2. In the Related Resources and UUIDs section, click the name of a related resource or UUID to manage it.

      Not all related resources and UUIDs can be managed; those which can be managed are indicated by their name or UUID appearing as a link.

    View any keys associated with the user and add more if required
    1. Click on the Keys sub-tab. 
    2. To add a key, enter the required details and click the  button.

      For more information about keys, see Keys.

    View and edit the user's metadata
    1. Click on the Bootstrap sub-tab.
    2. Click the  icon below the metadata sections.
    3. Edit the metadata as required.
    4. Click the  button.

    Edit the permissions for the user
    1. Click on the Permissions sub-tab. 
    2. To add a permission, enter the required details and click the button.
    Permissions are set using the following fields:
    • Permission - Whether to allow or deny the user or group the ability to perform the action specified using the Capability drop down menu.
    • Group/User - Whether the permission applies to a group, or an individual user. This field also specifies the user or group to which the permission applies.
    • Capability - The action that the user or group is specifically allowed or denied the ability to perform.
    • Resource type - The type of resource that the Capability pertains to, for example server, disk, or user.
    For more information about permissions, see Permissions.
  5. Once you have finished managing the user, close the Manage User dialog by clicking the  button.
  • No labels